MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#26
Tyler Austin
AVG HR RBI
.243 2 8
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 220 NFBC ADP: 619.50
Position: RFBorn: 9/6/1991 Birthplace: Conyers, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 13th Round by Yankees (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 15 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 13-5. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Sep. 12 7:12 AM PT8:12 AM MT9:12 AM CT10:12 AM ET10:12 ET14:12 GMT22:12 7:12 AM MST9:12 AM EST9:42 AM VEN18:12 UAE9:12 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 1 for 4 with a double Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Sep. 9 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 1 for 1 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Texas Rangers 3-1. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Sep. 7 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 1 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Baltimore Orioles 9-1. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
Aug. 26 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 2 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Aug. 23 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Detroit Tigers 10-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Aug. 23 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Tuesday as the New York Yankees topped the Detroit Tigers 13-4. Austin scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Austin has been getting his name in the lineup lately and producing, as he's 5 for 14 with a home run and five RBIs in four games since being called up from the minors. Matt Holliday is expected to return soon, so the 26-year-old's time as the Yankees' regular DH still could be short-lived.
Aug. 20 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-1. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Aug. 20 11:31 PM PT12:31 AM MT1:31 AM CT2:31 AM ET2:31 ET6:31 GMT14:31 11:31 PM MST1:31 AM EST2:01 AM VEN10:31 UAE1:31 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 4-3. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Austin opened the scoring with a three-run homer off Chris Sale in the second inning and is 4 for 8 in two starts since being recalled from Triple A. Both starts came against left-handers, and the 25-year-old is now 12 for 32 with four homers off southpaws during his brief big league career.
Aug. 17 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Tyler Austin went 2 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the New York Mets 7-5. Austin scored once. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
June 28 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Austin (hamstring) was taken off the DL on Friday and optioned to the minors.
Analysis: The first baseman was called up from Triple-A on June 24 and appeared in four games before getting injured. With the addition of Todd Frazier moving Chase Headley to first base and the acquisition of Garrett Cooper, Austin didn't have a place on the Yankees.
June 28 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3. He ended the game with a .154 batting average.
June 27 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Chicago White Sox 6-5. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
June 26 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Tyler Austin went 1 for 4 Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 7-6. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
June 24 9:06 AM PT10:06 AM MT11:06 AM CT12:06 PM ET12:06 ET16:06 GMT0:06 9:06 AM MST11:06 AM EST11:36 AM VEN20:06 UAE11:06 AM CT-Austin has been recalled from Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre and will take over as the Yankees' first baseman with Chris Carter designated for assignment. He went 0 for 3 with a pair of strikeouts Saturday as New York lost to the Texas Rangers 8-1.
Analysis: The 25-year-old earned the promotion by hitting .300 with four homers and 21 RBIs in 27 games in Triple A. Austin likely will eventually be used in a platoon with the left-handed hitting Greg Bird, as he posted a 1.097 OPS in 23 at-bats against lefties during a brief stint with the Yankees last season.
Feb. 17 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Austin (fractured left ankle) was removed from the 60-day DL on Monday and optioned to the minors.
Analysis: Austin's bid to unseat Greg Bird at first base ended after he fouled a ball off his ankle while taking batting practice during a pre-spring training workout. He hit .241 with five homers and 12 RBIs in 31 games last season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 NYY 31 83 7 20 3 0 5 12 7 36 1 0 .241 .300 .458
2017 NYY 16 37 4 9 2 0 2 8 4 14 0 0 .243 .302 .459
Career 47 120 11 29 5 0 7 20 11 50 1 0 .242 .301 .458


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.