MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Griffin Canning
ERA W-L K
5.60 5-4 62
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 180
Position: SPBorn: 5/11/1996 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Angels (2017)


Latest News
July 3 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST11:12 PM CST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed six runs on six hits and two walks in 2.2 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-7 on Friday. Canning did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 25 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Friday. Canning struck out four, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST4:39 PM CST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-4 on Wednesday. Canning struck out two, ending the game with a 5.07 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 10 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 5-4, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-1 on Wednesday. Canning struck out six, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 4 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-2 on Thursday. Canning struck out five, ending the game with a 5.82 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 26 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 4-3, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Texas Rangers 9-8 on Wednesday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 20 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on three hits and four walks in 2.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Thursday. Canning struck out one, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Friday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE10:53 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 3-2, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-2 on Friday. Canning struck out four, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 2 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE10:35 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 2-2, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Seattle Mariners 10-5 on Saturday. Canning struck out nine, ending the game with a 6.20 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 1-2, allowing six runs on six hits and two walks in 2.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 16-2 on Saturday. Canning struck out three, ending the game with an 8.40 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE10:35 PM CT-Griffin Canning improved to 1-1, allowing two runs on two hits in 2.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Tuesday. Canning struck out two, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Griffin Canning fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-1 on Wednesday. Canning struck out five, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Griffin Canning allowed four runs on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Thursday. Canning struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 LAA 5 6 0 - 0 18 17 0 90.1 80 46 46 14 30 0 96 1.22 4.58
2020 LAA 2 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 56.1 54 29 25 8 23 0 56 1.37 3.99
2021 LAA 5 4 0 - 0 14 13 0 62.2 65 41 39 14 28 0 62 1.48 5.60
Career 12 13 0 - 0 43 41 0 209.1 199 116 110 36 81 0 214 1.34 4.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 LAA 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 LAA 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 45 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 436 96 90 93.6 40.52
Curveball 118 85 78 81.9 10.97
Slider 293 91 83 88.2 27.23
Changeup 229 92 86 89.2 21.28

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.