MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
Mark Melancon
ERA S K
7.53 9 7
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-1 / 215
Position: RPBorn: 3/28/1985 Birthplace: Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
May 21 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET23:43 GMT7:43 4:43 PM MST6:43 PM EST5:43 PM CST7:13 PM VEN3:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his ninth save, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Chicago Cubs 7-6 on Saturday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 7.53 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Thursday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 7.43 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 18 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST5:16 PM CST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.03 ERA and 2.03 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 0-5, allowing three runs on two hits and two walks without recording an out, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Saturday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.49 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
May 14 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE10:44 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 11 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST4:44 PM CST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 0-4, allowing four runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Miami Marlins 11-3 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 10 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST10:37 PM CST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE10:37 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Monday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
May 7 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 0-3, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits in 0.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-1 on Saturday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST10:33 PM CST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE10:33 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-1 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Melancon came off the COVID-19 injured list before Friday's game against the Rockies.
Analysis: Melancon is 4 for 4 in save opportunities while posting a 1.13 ERA over eight innings.
Apr. 27 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST4:20 PM CST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Wednesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST10:38 PM CST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE10:38 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Tuesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 0-2, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 6-5 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his second save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Thursday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)2:27 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Saturday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Houston Astros 2-1 on Tuesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 5-2 on Saturday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 NYY 0 1 0 - 1 13 0 0 16.1 13 8 7 0 10 0 10 1.41 3.86
2010 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 7 5 4 1 0 0 3 1.75 9.00
2010 Hou 2 0 0 - 1 20 0 0 17.1 12 8 6 1 8 0 19 1.15 3.12
2010 Tot 2 0 0 - 1 22 0 0 21.1 19 13 10 2 8 0 22 1.27 4.22
2011 Hou 8 4 20 - 25 71 0 0 74.1 65 28 23 5 26 6 66 1.22 2.78
2012 Bos 0 2 1 - 2 41 0 0 45.0 45 31 31 8 12 1 41 1.27 6.20
2013 Pit 3 2 16 - 21 72 0 0 71.0 60 15 11 1 8 0 70 0.96 1.39
2014 Pit 3 5 33 - 37 72 0 0 71.0 51 15 15 2 11 1 71 0.87 1.90
2015 Pit 3 2 51 - 53 78 0 0 76.2 57 22 19 4 14 2 62 0.93 2.23
2016 Pit 1 1 30 - 33 45 0 0 41.2 31 10 7 2 9 0 38 0.96 1.51
2016 Was 1 1 17 - 18 30 0 0 29.2 21 6 6 1 3 0 27 0.81 1.82
2016 Tot 2 2 47 - 51 75 0 0 71.1 52 16 13 3 12 0 65 0.90 1.64
2017 SF 1 2 11 - 16 32 0 0 30.0 37 16 15 3 6 0 29 1.43 4.50
2018 SF 1 4 3 - 7 41 0 0 39.0 48 18 14 2 14 2 31 1.59 3.23
2019 SF 4 2 1 - 1 43 0 0 46.1 49 19 18 3 16 2 44 1.40 3.50
2019 Atl 1 0 11 - 11 23 0 0 21.0 22 9 9 1 2 0 24 1.14 3.86
2019 Tot 5 2 12 - 12 66 0 0 67.1 71 28 27 4 18 2 68 1.32 3.61
2020 Atl 2 1 11 - 13 23 0 0 22.2 22 8 7 1 7 3 14 1.28 2.78
2021 SD 4 3 39 - 45 64 0 0 64.2 54 21 16 4 25 4 59 1.22 2.23
2022 Ari 0 5 9 - 10 17 0 0 14.1 22 16 12 1 5 0 7 1.88 7.53
Career 34 35 253 - 294 687 0 0 685.0 616 255 220 40 176 21 615 1.16 2.89

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 71 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
2021 SD 64 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 687 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 1 0 0 - 1 4 0 0 3.2 5 4 4 2 1 0 2 9.82
    LDS 1 0 0 - 1 4 0 0 3.2 5 4 4 2 1 0 2 9.82
2014 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2015 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
2016 Was Total 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 4.1 3 0 0 0 2 2 5 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 4.1 3 0 0 0 2 2 5 0.00
2019 Atl Total 0 1 2 - 3 3 0 0 3.0 8 4 4 0 2 1 4 12.00
    LDS 0 1 2 - 3 3 0 0 3.0 8 4 4 0 2 1 4 12.00
2020 Atl Total 0 0 2 - 2 7 0 0 6.1 2 1 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LCS 0 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 2.1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 1 1 5 - 7 20 0 0 19.1 19 9 8 2 5 3 17 3.72


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 8 93 90 91.4 3.36
Curveball 71 83 79 81.2 29.83
Changeup 2 82 79 80.5 .84
Cut Fastball 157 93 87 90.4 65.97

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.